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Final Checklist Before Mailing Your Claim

The instructions and form itself will list
back-up information needed.

Did you need to attach any of these?

e MO-CRP

e Rent receipts or signed landlord statement

e SSA-1099, RRB-1099, or SSI Statement

e 2017 paid real estate receipts or personal property tax receipts

e Disabled veteran documentation

e Power of Attorney or Federal Form 1310 and death certificate
. J

Failure to include required documentation or
Information may reduce or delay your refund.



Am | Eligible?

Use this diagram to determine if you or your spouse are
eligible to claim the Property Tax Credit (Circuit Breaker)

Start diagram by choosing Box 1 or Box 2 and follow to conclusion.

Renters / Part-Year Owners - If single, is your total household income $27,500 or less? If married filing |NO
combined, is your total household income $29,500 or less? If you are a 100 percent service connected =3
disabled veteran, do not include VA payments.

YES Owned and occupied your home the entire year - If single, is your total household income |NO
OR 2 $30,000 or less? If married filing combined, is your total household income $34,000 or less? =3
If you are a 100 percent service connected disabled veteran, do not include VA payments.

YES y

Did you pay real estate taxes or rent on the home you occupied? NO
Renters: If you rent from a facility that does not pay property taxes, you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.

YES
+ NO

Can you truthfully state that you do not employ illegal or unauthorized aliens? >

YES y

Were you or your spouse
65 years of age or older

as of December 31, 2017,
and a Missouri resident the

-4 0 Z

Are you or your

spouse 100

NO | percent disabled |NO
as a result of

> military service?

If so, select

Are you or Were you 60 years of
your spouse age or older as of
100 percent NO December 31, 2017, NO
= disabled? If so, =¥ and receiving surviving =3
entire 2017 calendar year? select Box C spouse social security
If so, select Box A on Form on Form benefits? If so, select Box

Box B on Form —

MO-PTC. MO-PTC. MO-PTC. D on Form MO-PTC.

YES YES y YES y YES y

ELIGIBLE

mr W — @O —rmr m

This information is for guidance only and does not state complete law.

2-D Barcode Returns - If you plan to file a paper return, you ! byl b R
should consider 2-D barcode filing. The software encodes all your Imﬁ%@%ﬁ%%ﬂﬁﬁﬁ%?@%%%@mm
tax information into a 2-D barcode, which allows your return to be AR P T PO L ot

processed with fewer errors compared to traditional paper returns.

If you use software to prepare your return, check our website for approved 2-D barcode software companies.
Also, check out the Department’s fill-in forms that calculate and have a 2-D barcode. You can have your refund
directly deposited into your bank account when you use the Department’s fill-in forms. All 2-D barcode returns
should be mailed to: Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 3385, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3385.

Assistance with Preparing Your Tax Return

There are a large number of volunteer groups around Missouri providing tax assistance to elderly or lower
income taxpayers. To locate a volunteer group near you that offers return preparation assistance:

e Call 800-906-9887 or 888-227-7669, or

You will find a larger volume of volunteer centers open during the filing season, which is typically January
through April.


https://www.irs.gov/individuals/free-tax-return-preparation-for-you-by-volunteers
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Do | Have the Correct Tax Book?

You may use this tax book to file your 2017 Property
Tax Credit Claim (Form MO-PTC), if you meet the
eligibility requirements on page 2 and are not required
to file an individual income tax return.

You cannot use this book if you were required to file a
federal return and you were a:

¢ Resident of Missouri and you had Missouri adjusted
gross income of $1,200 or more;

¢ Nonresident of Missouri and had income of $600 or
more from Missouri sources; or

¢ Resident or nonresident with Missouri withholding
and you want to file an individual income tax return
to claim a refund of your withholding.

If you have any negative income, you cannot use this
form.

If you meet any of the above criteria, you cannot file
the Form MO-PTC. You must file a Missouri income
tax return and attach the Property Tax Credit Schedule
(Form MO-PTS) if you qualify for a property tax credit.
See below for information to obtain the correct form
(Individual Income Tax Return - Long Form MO-1040
or Individual Income Tax Return and Property Tax
Credit Claim/Pension Exemption - Short Form MO-
1040P) to file and claim your property tax credit.

Exception: You are not required to file a Missouri
income tax return if your standard deduction plus your
personal exemption meet or exceed your Missouri
adjusted gross income.

If you are a nonresident alien, visit our website at

http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/ for information.

Helpful Hint
If you anticipate receiving any 1099 or W-2 income,
please wait to file this claim until all statements are
received. Filing too early may result in a balance due.

To Obtain Forms

Visit http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/.

**Important Filing Information**

This information is for guidance only and does not
state the complete law.

When to File Claim

The 2017 Form MO-PTC is due April 17, 2018, but
you may file up to three years from the due date and
still receive your credit.

Where to Mail Claim

Mail your completed Form MO-PTC and all
attachments to:  Department of Revenue

P.O. Box 2800

Jefferson City, MO 65105-2800

Filing for Deceased Individuals

If an individual passed away in 2017, a claim may

be filed by the surviving spouse if the filing status is
“married filing combined” and all other qualifications
are met. If there is no surviving spouse, the estate may
file the claim.

A copy of the death certificate must be attached and
if the check is to be issued in another name, a Federal
Form 1310 must also accompany the claim. To obtain

Federal Form 1310, go to www.irs.gov/forms-pubs.

Any existing Power of Attorney (Form 2827) pending
with the Department of Revenue is terminated when the
death of the taxpayer is made known to the Department.
A new Form 2827 or verification of personal
representation is required after the death of the taxpayer
before any party may discuss the taxpayer’s debt with
the Department staff. If no personal representation was
appointed, submit verification of the executor of estate
or distributee.

Dollars and Cents

Rounding is required on your Form MO-PTC. Zeros
have been placed in the cents column on your return.
For 1 cent through 49 cents, round down to the
previous whole dollar amount. For 50 cents through 99
cents, round up to the next whole dollar amount.

Example:  Round $32.49 down to $32.00
Round $32.50 up to $33.00

Fill-in Forms That Calculate

Go to our website at :

to enter your tax information, and let us do the math
for you. No calculation errors means faster processing.
Just print, sign, and mail the claim with required
supporting documents.


http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/
http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/
https://www.irs.gov/forms-instructions
http://dor.mo.gov/personal/ptc/

Address Change

If you move after filing your return, notify both the post
office serving your old address and the Department

of Revenue of your address change. Address change
requests should be mailed to: Department of Revenue,
P.O. Box 2200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2200. This
will help forward any refund check or correspondence
to your new address.

Missouri Return Inquiry

To check the status of your current year return 24
hours a day, please visit the Department’s website

at http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/ or call

our automated individual income tax inquiry line at
(573) 526-8299. To obtain the status of your return,
you must know the following information: 1) the first
social security number on the return; 2) the filing status
shown on your return; and 3) the exact amount of the
refund or balance due in whole dollars.

Taxpayer Bill of Rights

To obtain the Taxpayer Bill of Rights (Form 3097) visit
http: r.mo.gov/personal/individual/.

Form MO-PTC

Information to Complete

Form MO-PTC
Name, Address, Etc.

Print or type your name(s), address, social security
number(s), birthdate(s), and telephone number in the
spaces provided. If you or your spouse do not have a
social security number, enter “none” in the appropriate
space(s). If married, enter both birthdates, even if your
spouse died during the calendar year. Only select the
deceased box if death occurred in 2017.

Select the amended claim box if you are filing an
amended claim. Complete the entire claim using the
corrected figures.

Helpful Hints
¢ Please use the social security number of the
person filing the claim.
* Do not use Form MO-PTC if you need to file an

individual income tax return (Form MO-1040 or
Form MO-1040P). See page 3.

Qualifications

Select the applicable box to indicate under which
qualification you are filing the Form MO-PTC. See
the “Am | Eligible” chart on page 2. You must select
a qualification box to be eligible for the credit. Select
only one box. Attach the appropriate documentation
to verify your qualification. (The required
documentation is listed behind each qualification on
Form MO-PTC.)

Filing Status

Select your filing status. You can select “married -
living separate for entire year” only if you and your
spouse did not at any time during the year live in the
same residence.

Note: If you lived at different addresses for the entire
year, you may file a separate claim. Do not include
your spouse’s name or social security number if you
selected married filing separate. You cannot take the
$2,000 or $4,000 deduction on Line 7 if you selected
“married-living separate for entire year,” as your filing
status, and you are filing a separate claim. (Example:
One spouse lives in a nursing or residential care facility
while the other spouse remains in the home the entire
year.)

Helpful Hint
If you are married and lived together for any part of
the year, you must file married filing combined and
include all household income.

Household Income

Household income is all income received by a
claimant, spouse, and minor children (taxable or
nontaxable) and includes all income from sources
listed on Lines 1 through 5 of Form MO-PTC.

Line 1 - Social Security Benefits

Enter the amount of social security benefits received
by you, your spouse, and your minor children before
any deductions and the amount of social security
equivalent railroad retirement benefits. Attach Forms
SSA-1099 or RRB-1099.

Lump sum distributions from the Social Security
Administration or other agencies must be claimed in
the year in which they are received.


http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/
http://dor.mo.gov/personal/individual/

FORM SSA-1099 - SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFIT STATEMENT

2017

* PART OF YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS SHOWN IN BOX 5 MAY BE TAXABLE INCOME.
« SEE THE REVERSE SIDE FOR MORE INFORMATION.

Box 1. Name

BETTY TAXPAYER

Box 2. Beneficiary's Social Security Number

000-00-0000

Box 3. Benefits Paid in 2017
*$8,400.00

NONE

Box 4. Benefits Repaid to SSA in 2017

Box 5. Net Benefits for 2017 (Box 3 minus box 4)

$8,400.00

DESCRIPTION OF AMOUNT IN BOX 3

Paid by check or direct deposit

Medicare premiums deducted from your benefit
Total Additions

Benefits for 2017

*Includes: $12.00 Paid in 2017 for 2016

$7,800.00

$600.00
$8,400.00
$8,400.00

DESCRIPTION OF AMOUNT IN BOX 4

NONE

Box 6. Voluntary Federal Income Tax Withheld

NONE

Box 7. Address

BETTY TAXPAYER
5500 TAXES LANE
TAXTOWN, MO 55555-5555

Box 8. Claim Number (Use this number if you need to contact SSA.)

000-00-0000

Form SSA-1099-SM (12-2017)

DO NOT RETURN THIS FORM TO SSA OR IRS

0603554

benefits) on Line 1.

Helpful Hints

e Wait to file your claim until you receive your
Form SSA-1099 in January 2018. This form will
list your benefits for the entire 2017 year. See
the sample Form SSA-1099 above.

e |f you are receiving railroad retirement benefits,
you should receive two Forms RRB-1099. Form
RRB-1099R shows annuities and pensions.
Form RRB-1099 shows your social security
equivalent railroad retirement benefits. Include
the amount from Form RRB-1099 that states
social security equivalent (usually Tier |

Line 2 - Wages, Pensions, Annuities,
Dividends, Interest, Rental
Income, or Other Income

Include the amount of all wages, pensions, annuities,
dividends, interest income, rental income, or other
income. Do not include excludable costs of pensions
or annuities. (These are usually the employee’s
contribution to a retirement program listed separately
on Form 1099-R.) Attach Forms W-2, 1099, 1099-R,
1099-DI1V, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, etc. If grants or
long-term care benefits are made payable to the
nursing facility, do not include as income or rent. If
you have any negative income, you cannot use this

form.

Line 3 - Railroad Retirement Benefits

Enter the gross distribution amount of railroad
retirement benefits (not included in Line 1) before
any deductions. This is the amount of annuities and
pensions received, not your social security equivalent
benefits. Attach Form RRB-1099R (Tier II).

Line 4 - Veteran Benefits

If a veteran is 100 percent disabled, not due to
military service, payments and benefits are included
in the property tax credit household income. Veteran
payments and benefits include education or training
allowances, disability compensation, grants, and
insurance proceeds. A letter from the Veterans
Administration detailing the amount of your benefits
needs to be attached to the Property Tax Credit Claim
(Form MO-PTC).

If a veteran is 100 percent disabled as a result of
military service, you are not required to include your
veteran payments and benefits on the Form MO-PTC.
A letter from the Veterans Administration confirming
the disability is 100 percent from military service needs
to be attached to the Form MO-PTC.

Note: To request a copy of the letter, call the Veterans
Administration at (800) 827-1000.

If you are a surviving spouse receiving social security
and your spouse was 100 percent disabled as a result
of military service, all veteran payments and benefits
must be included.

Line 5 - Public Assistance

Include the amount of public assistance, supplemental
security income (SSI), child support, unemployment
compensation, and temporary assistance payments
received by you, your spouse, and your minor children.
Temporary assistance payments include Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) payments. In
Missouri, the program is referred to as Temporary
Assistance (TA). This includes any payments received
from the government. Do not include the value of
commodity foods, food stamps, or heating and cooling
assistance.

Attach a letter from the Social Security Administration
that includes the total amount of assistance received
and Form 1099 from Employment Security, if
applicable.



Helpful Hints

* Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is paid by
the Social Security Administration. You have
to request an SSI form indicating total benefits
received either through a my Social Security
account at www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount,
by calling 1-800-772-1213, or contacting your
local Social Security office. If you have minor
children who receive SSI benefits, the children
do not qualify for a credit. However, if you
qualify for a credit you must include the
children’s SSI benefits on Line 5.

e If you receive temporary assistance from the
Children’s Division (CD) or the Family Support
Division (FSD), you must include all cash
benefits received for your entire household. The
Department of Revenue verifies this information
and failure to include total benefits may delay
your refund.

Line 7 - Filing Deduction

If you are Single or Married Living Separate, enter $0
on Line 7.

If you are Married and Filing Combined, see below to
determine the amount to enter on Line 7.

e If you RENTED or did not own your home for the
entire year, enter $2,000 on Line 7.

¢ If you OWNED and OCCUPIED your home for the
entire year, enter $4,000 on Line 7.

Line 8 - Net Household Income

Subtract Line 7 from Line 6 and enter the amount on
Line 8. See below to make sure you are eligible for the
credit.

e |f you RENTED or did not own and occupy your
home for the entire year, the amount you enter on
Line 8 cannot exceed $27,500. If the amount of your
net household income on Line 8 is above $27,500,
you are not eligible for the credit.

e If you OWNED and OCCUPIED your home for
the entire year, the amount you enter on Line 8
cannot exceed $30,000. If the amount of your net
household income on Line 8 is above $30,000, you
are not eligible for the credit.

Line 9 - Own Your Home

If you owned and occupied your home, include the
amount of tax you paid on your 2017 real estate tax
receipt(s) only, or $1,100, whichever is less. Do not
include special assessments (sewer lateral), penalties,
service charges, and interest listed on your tax
receipt. You can only claim the taxes on your primary

residence that you occupy. Secondary homes are not
eligible for the credit.

Attach a paid real estate tax receipt(s) from the
county and city collector’s office. Mortgage and
financial institution statements are not acceptable.

If you submit more than one receipt from a city or county
for your residence, please submit a letter of explanation.

Your home or dwelling is the place in which you
reside in Missouri, whether owned or rented, and
the surrounding land, not to exceed five acres, as

is reasonably necessary for use of the dwelling as a
home. A home may be part of a larger unit such as
a farm or building partly rented or used for business.
If you share a home, report only the portion of real
estate tax that was actually paid by you. If you sold
or purchased your home during the year, attach the
seller’s/buyer’s agreement to your claim.

Helpful Hint

Real estate tax paid for a prior year cannot be
claimed on this form. To claim real estate taxes for a
prior year, you must file a claim for that year.
Example: If you paid your 2016 real estate tax in
calendar year 2017, you must file a 2016 Property
Tax Credit Claim (Form MO-PTC).

If your home or farm has more than five acres or you
own a mobile home and it is classified as personal
property, an Assessors Certification (Form 948) must be
attached with your paid personal or real property tax
receipt. If you own a mobile home that is classified as
real property, a Form 948 isn’t needed. In such cases,
you can claim property tax for the mobile home and rent
if applicable, for the lot. A credit will not be allowed for
vehicles listed on the personal property tax receipt.

If you use your home for business purposes, the
percentage of your home that is used for business
purposes, must be subtracted from your real estate
taxes paid. If you need to use a Form 948 to calculate
the amount of real estate tax, you must subtract the
percentage of your home that is used for business
purposes from the allowable real estate taxes paid
calculated on the Form 948.

Example: Ruth has 10 acres surrounding her house.
She needs to use a Form 948, because she is only
entitled to receive credit for 5 acres. By her
calculations, she enters $500 on Form 948, Line

6. Ruth also uses 15 percent of her house for her
business. She will multiply $500 by 85 percent and put
this figure ($425) on Form MO-PTC, Line 9.

Helpful Hint
If you own your home and other adults (other than
your spouse) live there and pay rent, the rent must
be claimed as income.



https://www.ssa.gov/myaccount/

Line 10 - Rent Your Home

Complete one Certification of Rent Paid (Form
MO-CRP) for each rented home (including mobile
home or lot) you occupied during 2017. The Form
MO-CRP is on page 12 and instructions are on page 8.

Add the totals from Line 9 on all Forms MO-CRP
completed and enter the amount on Line 10, or $750,
whichever is less. Attach rent receipt(s) or a signed
statement from your landlord for any rent you

are claiming along with Form MO-CRP. Copies of
cancelled checks (front and back) will be accepted if
your landlord will not provide rent receipts or a
statement. A bank image is acceptable if it is identified
to be from the banking institution.

You cannot claim returned check fees, late fees,
security and cleaning deposits, or any other deposit.
If you have the same address as your landlord, please
verify the number of occupants and living units.

Helpful Hints

* If you receive low income housing assistance,
the rent you claim may not exceed 40 percent of
your income. Please claim only the amount of
rent you pay or your refund will be delayed or

denied.

* If your gross rent paid exceeds your household
income, you must attach a detailed statement
explaining how the additional rent was paid or
the claim will be denied.

e Ultilities (air conditioning, gas, electric, late fees,
deposits, etc.) are not included.

* Nursing Homes - You must deduct personal
allowances (clothing, hair stylists, etc.) prior to
calculating your rent.

Line 11 - Total Real Estate Tax / Rent Paid

Add amounts from Form MO-PTC, Lines 9 and 10 and
enter amount on Line 11, or $1,100, whichever is less.

Example: Ester owns her home for three months and
pays $100 in property taxes. For nine months she
rents an apartment and pays $4,000 in rent. The
amount on Line 9 of the MO-CRP is $800 ($4,000 x
20%). Form MO-PTC, Line 9 is $100, Line 10 is $750,
and Line 11 is $850. The $800 for rent is limited to
$750 on Line 10.

Credits

Line 12 - Property Tax Credit

Apply amounts from Form MO-PTC, Lines 8 and 11 to
the Property Tax Credit Chart on pages 13 through 15
to determine the amount of your property tax credit.
See the following Helpful Hint. If you have another
income tax or property tax credit liability, this property
tax credit may be applied to that liability in accordance

with Section 143.782, RSMo. You will be notified if

your credit is offset against any debts.

Sign Claim

You must sign your Form MO-PTC. Both spouses must
sign a combined claim. If you use a paid preparer,

the preparer must also sign the claim. If you wish to
authorize the Director of Revenue, or delegate, to
discuss your tax information with your preparer or any
member of your preparer’s firm, indicate by selecting
the “yes” box below the signature line.

Important: If the Form MO-PTC is being filed on behalf
of a claimant by a nursing home or residential care
facility, a statement to that effect from the claimant’s
legal guardian or power of attorney must be attached
to the Form MO-PTC.

Mail Claim

Send your claim and all attachments to: Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 2800, Jefferson City, MO 65105-
2800.

Helpful Hint

To determine your credit, use the 2017 Property
Tax Credit Chart on pages 13 through 15. Lines
are provided on the chart to help you figure this
amount.

Example: Ruth paid $1,200 in real estate tax and
her total household income was $15,000. Ruth will
apply her tax paid and her total household income
to the chart to figure out her credit amount. Even
though Ruth paid $1,200 in real estate tax, the
maximum allowed credit is $1,100. Ruth will use
$1,100 as tax paid and her total household income
of $15,000 to make the comparison. When using
the chart, Ruth finds where $15,000 and $1,100
“meet” to figure her credit. The two numbers “meet”
on the chart where the credit amount is $1,059.
Ruth will get a $1,059 credit for the real estate tax
she paid.



http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=143.782

Failure to include required documentation
or information may reduce or delay your refund.

Information to Complete Form MO-CRP

the percentage on box G of the Form MO-CRP must be
used to determine your credit. If none of the reductions
apply to you, enter 100 percent on Line 7.

Form MO-CRP must be completed by taxpayers who
rented their home and are submitting a Property Tax
Credit Claim.

If you rent from a facility that does not pay property
taxes, you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.

Step 1

Enter all information requested on Lines 1-5. If rent is

paid to a relative, the relationship to the landlord must
be indicated on Line 1. Your claim may be delayed if

you fail to enter all required information.

Step 2

Enter on Line 6 the gross rent paid. Exclude rent paid
for any portion of your home used in the production
of income, and the rent paid for surrounding land
with attachments not necessary nor maintained for
homestead purposes. Also, exclude any rent paid to
your landlord on your behalf by any organization or
agency.

Step 3

If you were a resident of a nursing home or boarding
home during 2017, use the applicable percentage on
Line 7. If you live in a hotel and meals are included in
your rent payment, enter 50 percent; otherwise enter

100 percent. If two or more unmarried individuals over

18 years of age share a residence and each pay part of
the rent, enter the total rent on Form MO-CRP, Line 6

and mark the appropriate percentage on box G of Line

7. If the rent receipt is for the total rent amount, then

Step 4

Multiply Line 6 by the percentage on Line 7. Enter this
amount on Form MO-CRP, Line 8.

Step 5

Multiply Line 8 by 20 percent and enter the result on
Line 9. Add the totals from Line 9 on all completed
Forms MO-CRP and enter the amount on Line 10 of
MO-PTC.

Helpful Hints
* An apartment is a room or suite of rooms with
separate facilities for cooking and other normal
household functions.
* A boarding home is a house that provides meals,
lodging, and the residents share common facilities.

If you are required to file an income tax return, Form MO-1040 or Form
MO-1040P, you must use Form MO-PTS to claim a property tax credit and
attach it to the Form MO-1040 or Form MO-1040P.

Do not use Form MO-PTC if you are required to file an income tax return.




Missouri Department of Revenue
2017 Property Tax Credit Claim

Print in BLACK ink only and DO NOT STAPLE.
For Privacy Notice, see Instructions.

[] Select Here for Amended Claim G Gl EEN R U Il
Deceased Deceased

Social Security Number in2017  Spouse’s Social Security Number in 2017
Birthdate (MM/DD/YYYY) Spouse’s Birthdate (MM/DD/YYYY)

)

% First Name M.1. Last Name Suffix

b
Spouse’s First Name M.1. Spouse’s Last Name Suffix
In Care Of Name (Attorney, Executor, Personal Representative, etc.)

Present Address (Include Apartment Number or Rural Route)

City, Town, or Post Office State ZIP Code

Address

County of Residence

Select only one qualification. Copies of letters, forms, etc., must be included with claim.
|:| A. 65 years of age or older - You must be a full year resident. (Attach Form SSA-1099.)

|:| B. 100% Disabled Veteran as a result of military service (Attach letter from Department of Veterans Affairs - see instructions.)

Qualifications

|:| C. 100% Disabled (Attach letter from Social Security Administration or Form SSA-1099.)

|:| D. 60 years of age or older and received surviving spouse benefits (Attach Form SSA-1099.)

Select only one filing status. If married filing combined, you must report both incomes.

|:| Single |:| Married - Filing Combined |:| Married - Living Separate for Entire Year

R0 0 A A T
17344010001

9

MO-PTC Page 1



Household Income

Real Estate Tax and Rent Paid

Failure to provide the following attachments will result in denial or delay of your claim:
rent receipt(s), Verification of Rent Paid (Form 5674) or a signed landlord statement, Form(s) 1099, W-2, etc.

Enter the amount of social security benefits received by you, your spouse, and your minor
children before any deductions and the amount of social security equivalent railroad retirement
benefits. Attach Form(s) SSA-1099 or RRB-1099 (TIERI) ......... .. ... . ... 1

8 ]
o

Enter the total amount of wages, pensions, annuities, dividends, interest income, rental income,
or other income. Attach Form(s) W-2, 1099, 1099-R, 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, etc. ... L2

8 ]
o

. Enter the amount of railroad retirement benefits (not included in Line 1) before any deductions.
Attach Form RRB-1099-R (TIER 1) . . ...\ttt e e 3

8 ]
o

Enter the amount of veteran’s payments or benefits before any deductions.
Attach letter from Veterans Affairs (see instructionsonpage5) ........... ... ... .. ..... 4

8 ]
o

Enter the total amount received by you, your spouse, and your minor children from: public

assistance, SSI, child support, or Temporary Assistance payments (TA and TANF). Attach a
letter from the Social Security Administration that includes the amount of assistance received ]
and Form 1099 from Employment Security, if applicable .. .......... ... ... ... ... .... 5 .100]

8 ]
o

Total household income - Add Lines 1 through 5 and enter the totalhere ... ................. 6

\,
8 ]
o

Enter the appropriate amount from the options below. .. ........... ... . ... ... ... ... ....
e Single or Married Living Separate - Enter $0
e Married and Filing Combined - rented or did not own your home for the entire year - Enter $2,000

e Married and Filing Combined - owned and occupied your home for the entire year - Enter $4,000

Net household income - Subtract Line 7 from Line 6 and enter the amounthere . ............ 8 .

e If you rented or did not own and occupy your home for the entire year and Line 8 is
greater than $27,500, you are not eligible to file this claim.

e If you owned and occupied your home for the entire year and Line 8 is greater
than $30,000, you are not eligible to file this claim.

If you owned your home, enter the total amount of property tax paid for your home, less special
assessments, or $1,100, whichever is less. Attach a copy of your paid real estate tax receipt(s).

If your home is on more than five acres or you own a mobile home, attach the Assessor’s
Certification (FOrM 948) . . .. ...\ttt e ettt e 9

If you rented, enter the total amount from Form(s) MO-CRP, Line 9 or $750, whichever is less.
Attach rent receipts or a signed statement from your landlord. NOTE: If you rent from a facility
that does not pay property tax, you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit. . .. ............. 10

Enter the total of Lines 9 and 10, or $1,100, WhiCheveris eSS . . . .. ..o 11 )

0O 00 0 0 A T
17344020001
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http://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=MO-CRP&category=&year=&searchForms=Search+Forms
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?category=&formName=948

12. Apply amounts from Lines 8 and 11 to chart on pages 13-15 to figure your Property Tax Credit.

You must use the chart on pages 13-15 to see how much refund you are allowed. .. .......... 12

%

o

O
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to
the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all
information of which he or she has any knowledge. As provided in Chapter 143, RSMo a penalty of up to $500 shall be imposed
on any individual who files a frivolous return. | also declare under penalties of perjury that | employ no illegal or unauthorized
aliens as defined under federal law and that | am not eligible for any tax exemption, credit or abatement if | employ such aliens.
Signature Date (MM/DD/YY)
Spouse’s Signature (If filing combined, BOTH must sign) Date (MM/DD/YY)

2

2 E-mail Address Daytime Telephone

8

2

(75}

Preparer’s Signature

Date (MM/DD/YY)

Preparer’s FEIN, SSN, or PTIN

Preparer’s Telephone

Preparer’'s Address

State ZIP Code

| authorize the Director of Revenue or delegate to discuss my claim and attachments with the preparer

or any member of his or her firm, or if internally prepared, any member of the internal staff

Department Use Only

1A [« [1r [T

|:|No

Mail to: Taxation Division Phone: (573) 751-3505
P.O. Box 2800 TTY: (800) 735-2966
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2800 Fax: (573) 522-1721
E-mail: PropertyTaxCredit@dor.mo.gov

0K 00 0 O O T
17344030001
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http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneChapter.aspx?chapter=143

One Form MO-CRP must be provided for each rental location in which you resided.
Form Missouri Department of Revenue Failure to provide landlord information will result in denial or delay of your claim.
MO-CRP 2017 Certification of Rent Paid

1. Social Security Number Spouse’s Social Security Number

|:| Select this box if related to your landlord. If so, explain.
2. Name (First, Last)

Physical Address of Rental Unit (P.O. Box Not Allowed) Apartment Number

City State ZIP Code

3. Landlord’s Name (First, Last)

Landlord’s Last 4 Digits of Social Security Number Landlord’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) - if applicable
Landlord’s Street Address (Must be completed) Apartment Number
City State ZIP Code

4. Landlord’s Phone Number (Must be completed)
From: To:
5. Rental Period During Year (MM/DD/YY) (MM/DD/YY)

6. Enter your gross rent paid. Attach rent receipt(s) for each rent payment for the entire year, a signed statement
from your landlord, or copies of canceled checks (front and back). If you received housing assistance, enter

the amount of rent you paid. Note: If you rent from a facility that does not pay property tax, you are not
eligible for a Property Tax Credit . ... ... e 6
) . . 0/
7. Select the appropriate box below and enter the corresponding percentageon Line7 ........................ 7 o
|:| A. Apartment, House, Mobile Home, or Duplex - 100% |:| F. Low Income Housing - 100% (Rent cannot exceed 40% of total

household income.)
|:| B. Mobile Home Lot - 100%
|:| G. Shared Residence — If you shared your rent with relatives or friends
|:| C. Boarding Home or Residential Care - 50% (other than your spouse or children under 18), select the appropriate
box based on the additional persons sharing rent:

[] 1 (50%) [] 2 (33%) [] 3 (25%)

|:| D. Skilled or Intermediate Care Nursing Home - 45%

|:| E. Hotel - 100%; if meals are included - 50%

. _ . ol
8. Net rent paid - Multiply Line 6 by the percentage onLine 7. . . ... ... ... . . .
9. Multiply Line 8 by 20%. Enter amount here and on Line 10 of Form MO-PTC or Line 12 of Form MO-PTS. ... ... .

For Privacy Notice, see instructions. Form MO-CRP (Revised 12-2017)

Taxation Division
Attach to Form MO-PTC or MO-PTS and mail to the Missouri Department of Revenue.

12
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A. Enter amount from Line 8 here

B. Enter amount from Line 11 here

C. Find where these two numbers “meet” below to figure your credit amount. Enter on Form MO-PTC, Line 12.

Amount from Line B above or from Form MO-PTC, Line 11 - Total Real Estate Tax paid

2017 Property Tax Credit Chart

FROM FROM FROM
1076 | 1051 [ 1026 | 1001 | 976 | 951 | 926 | 901 | 876 | 851 | 826 | 801 | 776 | 751
TO TO TO
1100 | 1075 | 1050 | 1025 | 1000 | 975 | 950 | 925 | 900 | 875 | 850 | 825 | 800 | 775
Refund is the actual total amount of allowable real estate tax paid, not to exceed $1,100 (Form MO-PTC, Line 11).

1 14,300 NOTE: If you rent from a facility that does not pay property taxes, you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.
14,301 | 14,600 | 1078 | 1053 | 1028 | 1003 978 953 928 903 878 853 828 803 778 753
14,601 | 14,900 | 1069 1044 | 1019 994 969 944 919 894 869 844 819 794 769 744
14,901 | 15,200 | 1059 | 1034 | 1009 984 959 934 909 3884 859 834 809 784 759 734
15,201 | 15,500 | 1049 | 1024 | 999 974 949 924 899 874 849 824 799 774 749 724
15,501 | 15,800 | 1039 | 1014 | 989 964 939 914 889 864 839 814 789 764 739 714
15,801 | 16,100 | 1028 | 1003 | 978 953 928 903 878 853 828 803 778 753 728 703
16,101 | 16,400 | 1016 991 966 941 916 891 866 841 816 791 766 741 716 691
16,401 | 16,700 | 1005 980 955 930 905 880 855 830 805 780 755 730 705 680
16,701 | 17,000 | 993 968 943 918 893 868 843 818 793 768 743 718 693 668
17,001 | 17,300 | 980 955 930 905 880 855 830 805 780 755 730 705 680 655
17,301 | 17,600 | 968 943 918 893 868 843 818 793 768 743 718 693 668 643
17,601 | 17,900 | 954 929 904 879 854 829 804 779 754 729 704 679 654 629
17,901 | 18,200 | 941 916 891 866 841 816 791 766 741 716 691 666 641 616
18,201 | 18,500 | 927 902 877 852 827 802 777 752 727 702 677 652 627 602
18,501 | 18,800 | 913 888 863 838 813 788 763 738 713 688 663 638 613 588
18,801 | 19,100 | 898 873 848 823 798 773 748 723 698 673 648 623 598 573
19,101 19,400 | 883 858 833 808 783 758 733 708 683 658 633 608 583 558
19,401 | 19,700 | 868 843 318 793 768 743 718 693 6638 643 618 593 568 543
19,701 | 20,000 | 852 827 802 777 752 727 702 677 652 627 602 577 552 527
20,001 | 20,300 | 836 811 786 761 736 711 686 661 636 611 586 561 536 511
20,301 | 20,600 [ 819 794 769 744 719 694 669 644 619 594 569 544 519 494
20,601 | 20,900 | 802 777 752 727 702 677 652 627 602 577 552 527 502 477
20,901 | 21,200 | 785 760 735 710 685 660 635 610 585 560 535 510 485 460
21,201 | 21,500 | 767 742 717 692 667 642 617 592 567 542 517 492 467 442
21,501 | 21,800 | 749 724 699 674 649 624 599 574 549 524 499 474 449 424
21,801 | 22,100 | 731 706 681 656 631 606 581 556 531 506 481 456 431 406
22,101 | 22,400 | 712 687 662 637 612 587 562 537 512 487 462 437 412 387
22,401 | 22,700 | 693 668 643 618 593 568 543 518 493 468 443 418 393 368
22,701 | 23,000 | 673 648 623 598 573 548 523 498 473 448 423 398 373 348
23,001 | 23,300 [ 653 628 603 578 553 528 503 478 453 428 403 378 353 328
23,301 | 23,600 | 633 608 583 558 533 508 483 458 433 408 383 358 333 308
23,601 | 23,900 | 613 588 563 538 513 488 463 438 413 388 363 338 313 288
23,901 | 24,200 | 591 566 541 516 491 466 441 416 391 366 341 316 291 266
24,201 | 24,500 | 570 545 520 495 470 445 420 395 370 345 320 295 270 245
24,501 | 24,800 | 548 523 498 473 448 423 398 373 348 323 298 273 248 223
24,801 | 25,100 | 526 501 476 451 426 401 376 351 326 301 276 251 226 201
25,101 | 25,400 | 504 479 454 429 404 379 354 329 304 279 254 229 204 179
25,401 | 25,700 | 481 456 431 406 381 356 331 306 281 256 231 206 181 156
25,701 | 26,000 | 457 432 407 382 357 332 307 282 257 232 207 182 157 132
26,001 | 26,300 | 434 409 384 359 334 309 284 259 234 209 184 159 134 109
26,301 | 26,600 | 410 385 360 335 310 285 260 235 210 185 160 135 110 85
26,601 | 26,900 | 385 360 335 310 285 260 235 210 185 160 135 110 85 60
26,901 | 27,200 | 361 336 311 286 261 236 211 186 161 136 111 86 61 36
27,201 | 27,500 [ 335 310 285 260 235 210 185 160 135 110 85 60 35 10
27,501 | 27,800 | 310 285 260 235 210 185 160 135 110 85 60 35 10
27,801 | 28,100 | 284 259 234 209 184 159 134 109 84 59 34 9
28,101 | 28,400 | 258 233 208 183 158 133 108 83 58 33 8
28,401 | 28,700 | 231 206 181 156 131 106 81 56 31 6
28,701 | 29,000 | 204 179 154 129 104 79 54 29 4
29,001 | 29,300 | 177 152 127 102 77 52 27 2
29,301 | 29,600 [ 149 124 99 74 49 24
29,601 | 29,900 [ 121 96 71 46 21
29,901 | 30,000 | 95 70 45 20
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A. Enter amount from Line 8 here B. Enter amount from Line 11 here

C. Find where these two numbers “meet” below to figure your credit amount. Enter on Form MO-PTC, Line 12.

Amount from Line B above or from Form MO-PTC, Line 11 - Total Real Estate Tax or 20% of Rent Paid

FROM FROM FROM
726| 701 | 676 | 651 | 626 | 601 | 576 | 551 | 526 | 501 | 476 | 451 | 426 | 401
TO TO TO

750 | 725 | 700 | 675 | 650 | 625 | 600 | 575 | 550 | 525 | 500 | 475 | 450 | 425

FROM TO Refund is the actual total amount of allowable real estate tax paid, not to exceed $1,100 or rent credit equivalent not to exceed $750 (Form
1 14,300 MO-PTC, Line 11). NOTE: If you rent from a facility that does not pay property taxes, you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.

14,301 | 14,600 | 728 703 678 653 628 603 578 553 528 503 478 453 428 403
14,601 | 14,900 | 719 694 669 644 619 594 569 544 519 494 469 444 419 394
14,901 | 15,200 | 709 684 659 634 609 584 559 534 509 484 459 434 409 384
15,201 | 15,500 | 699 674 649 624 599 574 549 524 499 474 449 424 399 374
15,501 | 15,800 [ 689 664 639 614 589 564 539 514 489 464 439 414 389 364
15,801 | 16,100 [ 678 653 628 603 578 553 528 503 478 453 428 403 378 353
16,101 | 16,400 | 666 641 616 591 566 541 516 491 466 441 416 391 366 341
16,401 | 16,700 | 655 630 605 580 555 530 505 480 455 430 405 380 355 330
16,701 | 17,000 | 643 618 593 568 543 518 493 468 443 418 393 368 343 318
17,001 | 17,300 | 630 605 580 555 530 505 480 455 430 405 380 355 330 305
17,301 | 17,600 | 618 593 568 543 518 493 468 443 418 393 368 343 318 293
17,601 | 17,900 | 604 579 554 529 504 479 454 429 404 379 354 329 304 279
17,901 | 18,200 | 591 566 541 516 491 466 441 416 391 366 341 316 291 266
18,201 | 18,500 | 577 552 527 502 477 452 427 402 377 352 327 302 277 252
18,501 | 18,800 | 563 538 513 488 463 438 413 388 363 338 313 288 263 238
18,801 | 19,100 | 548 523 498 473 448 423 398 373 348 323 298 273 248 223
19,101 | 19,400 | 533 508 483 458 433 408 383 358 333 308 283 258 233 208
19,401 | 19,700 | 518 | 493 468 443 418 393 368 343 318 293 268 243 218 193
19,701 | 20,000 | 502 477 452 427 402 377 352 327 302 277 252 227 202 177
20,001 | 20,300 | 486 | 461 436 411 386 361 336 311 286 261 236 211 186 161
20,301 | 20,600 | 469 444 419 394 369 344 319 294 269 244 219 194 169 144
20,601 | 20,900 | 452 427 402 377 352 327 302 277 252 227 202 177 152 127
20,901 | 21,200 | 435 410 385 360 335 310 285 260 235 210 185 160 135 110
21,201 | 21,500 | 417 392 367 342 317 292 267 242 217 192 167 142 117 92

21,501 21,800 [ 399 | 374 | 349 | 324 | 299 | 274 | 249 | 224 | 199 | 174 | 149 | 124 | 99 74
21,801 22,100 | 381 | 356 | 331 | 306 | 281 256 | 231 | 206 | 181 | 156 | 131 106 | 81 56
22,101 22,400 | 362 | 337 | 312 | 287 | 262 | 237 | 212 | 187 | 162 | 137 | 112 87 62 37
22,401 22,700 | 343 | 318 | 293 | 268 | 243 | 218 | 193 | 168 | 143 | 118 93 68 43 18
22,701 23,000 [ 323 | 298 | 273 | 248 | 223 | 198 | 173 | 148 | 123 | 98 73 48 23
23,001 23,300 [ 303 | 278 | 253 | 228 | 203 | 178 | 153 | 128 | 103 | 78 53 28 3

23,301 23,600 [ 283 | 258 | 233 | 208 | 183 | 158 | 133 | 108 83 58 33 8

23,601 23,900 [ 263 | 238 | 213 | 188 | 163 | 138 | 113 | 88 63 38 13

23,901 24,200 [ 241 | 216 | 191 | 166 | 141 116 91 66 41 16

24,201 24,500 [ 220 | 195 | 170 | 145 | 120 95 70 45 20

24,501 24,800 [ 198 | 173 | 148 | 123 98 73 48 23

24,801 25,100 [ 176 | 151 126 | 101 76 51 26 1

25,101| 25,400 | 154 | 129 | 104 79 54 29 4

25,401 25,700 [ 131 | 106 81 56 31 6

25,701 26,000 [ 107 | 82 57 32 7

26,001 | 26,300 | 84 59 34 9 Example:

26,301| 26,600 [ 60 35 10 If Line 8 is $23,980 and
26,601 | 26,900 | 35 10 Line 11 of Form MO-PTC is
26,901 | 27,200 [ 11 $525, then the tax credit
27,201 27,500 would be $16.

27,501 | 27,800

27,801 28,100
28,101 28,400 This area indicates no
28,401 28,700
28,701 29,000
29,001 29,300
29,301 29,600
29,601 29,900
29,901 30,000

credit is allowable.
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A. Enter amount from Line 8 here

C. Find where these two numbers “meet” below to figure your credit amount. Enter on Form MO-PTC, Line 12.

B. Enter amount from Line 11 here

FROM TO

14,301
14,601
14,901
15,201
15,501
15,801
16,101
16,401
16,701
17,001
17,301
17,601
17,901
18,201
18,501
18,801
19,101
19,401
19,701
20,001
20,301
20,601
20,901
21,201
21,501
21,801
22,101
22,401
22,701
23,001
23,301
23,601
23,901
24,201
24,501
24,801
25,101
25,401
25,701
26,001
26,301
26,601
26,901
27,201
27,501
27,801
28,101
28,401
28,701
29,001
29,301
29,601
29,901

Amount from Line B above or from Form MO-PTC, Line 11 - Total Real Estate Tax or 20% of Rent Paid

14,300
14,600
14,900
15,200
15,500
15,800
16,100
16,400
16,700
17,000
17,300
17,600
17,900
18,200
18,500
18,800
19,100
19,400
19,700
20,000
20,300
20,600
20,900
21,200
21,500
21,800
22,100
22,400
22,700
23,000
23,300
23,600
23,900
24,200
24,500
24,800
25,100
25,400
25,700
26,000
26,300
26,600
26,900
27,200
27,500
27,800
28,100
28,400
28,700
29,000
29,300
29,600
29,900
30,000

FROM

FROM

FROM

376|351|326|301|276|251|226|201|176|151|126|101| 76|51 | 26| 1

TO

TO

TO

400 | 375 | 350 | 325 | 300 | 275 | 250 | 225 | 200 | 175 [ 150 | 125 | 100 [ 75 | 50 | 25

Refund is the actual total amount of allowable real estate tax paid, not to exceed $1,100 or rent credit equivalent not to exceed $750 (Form

MO-PTC, Line 11). NOTE: If you rent from a facility that does not pay proj

perty taxes, you are not eligible for a Property Tax Credit.

378
369
359
349
339
328
316
305
293
280
268
254
241
227
213
198
183
168
152
136
119
102
85
67
49
31
12

353
344
334
324
314
303
291
280
268
255
243
229
216
202
188
173
158
143
127
111
94
77
60
42
24
6

328
319
309
299
289
278
266
255
243
230
218
204
191
177
163
148
133
118
102
86
69
52
35
17

303
294
284
274
264
253
241
230
218
205
193
179
166
152
138
123
108
93
77
61
44
27
10

278
269
259
249
239
228
216
205
193
180
168
154
141
127
113
98
83
68
52
36
19
2

253
244
234
224
214
203
191
180
168
155
143
129
116
102
88
73
58
43
27
11

228
219
209
199
189
178
166
155
143
130
118
104
91
77
63
48
33
18
2

203
194
184
174
164
153
141
130
118
105
93
79
66
52
38
23
8

\

178 | 153 | 128 | 103 78
169 | 144 | 119 94 69
159 | 134 | 109 84 59
149 | 124 | 99 74 49
139 | 114 | 89 64 39
128 | 103 78 53 28
116 91 66 41 16
105 80 55 30 5
93 68 43 18
80 55 30 5
68 43 18
54 29 4

53
44
34
24
14
3

41 | 16

27 | 2

13
Example:

If Line 8 is $19,360 and
Line 11 of Form MO-PTC
is $225, then the tax credit
would be $8.

This area indicates no

credit is allowable.

28
19
9

3
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MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PRSRT STD
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105-2200 U.S. POSTAGE

PAID
Missouri Dept.
of Revenue

Important Phone Numbers

General Inquiry Line ................................................ (573) 751-3505
Automated Refund/Balance Due/1099G Inquiry.............. (573) 526-8299
Electronic Filing Information...................................... (573) 751-3505

Individuals with speech or hearing impairments may use TTY (800) 735-2966
or fax (573) 522-1762.

Download forms or check the status of your return on our website
Property Tax Credit e-mail: propertytaxcredit@dor.mo.gov

Federal Privacy Notice

The Federal Privacy Act requires the Missouri Department of Revenue (Department) to inform taxpayers of the Department’s legal authority for requesting
identifying information, including social security numbers, and to explain why the information is needed and how the information will be used.

Chapter 143 of the Missouri Revised Statutes authorizes the Department to request information necessary to carry out the tax laws of the state of Missouri. Federal law 42 U.S.C.
Section 405 (c)(2)(C) authorizes the states to require taxpayers to provide social security numbers.

The Department uses your social security number to identify you and process your tax returns and other documents, to determine and collect the correct amount of tax, to
ensure you are complying with the tax laws, and to exchange tax information with the Internal Revenue Service, other states, and the Multistate Tax Commission (Chapters 32
and 143, RSMo). In addition, statutorily provided non-tax uses are: (1) to provide information to the Department of Higher Education with respect to applicants for financial
assistance under Chapter 173, RSMo and (2) to offset refunds against amounts due to a state agency by a person or entity (Chapter 143, RSMo). Information furnished to other
agencies or persons shall be used solely for the purpose of administering tax laws or the specific laws administered by the person having the statutory right to obtain it [as
indicated above]. In addition, information may be disclosed to the public regarding the name of a tax credit recipient and the amount issued to such recipient (Chapter 135,
RSMo). (For the Department’s authority to prescribe forms and to require furnishing of social security numbers, see Chapters 135, 143, and 144, RSMo.)

You are required to provide your social security number on your tax return. Failure to provide your social security number or providing a false social security number may result
in criminal action against you.
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